UWS Fast Forward Year 12 Conference

Year 12 Fast Forward Conference

On Wednesday 11th of February nine students attended the UWS Fast Forward Year 12 Conference held at UWS Parramatta Campus.

The Conference began with an address from Professor James Arvanitakis who informed the students that following your dream was essential to success. Professor Arvanitakis shared with the students his struggle to academic study, in particular a time when his first academic course co-ordinator advised him to re-think his plans of achieving a Bachelors Degree.

Professor Arvanitakis indeed did poorly in his first semester but with perseverance he continued his academic studies and now holds a PhD. In 2012 Professor Arvanitakis was awarded the Prime Minister’s University Teacher of the Year Award – Australia’s most prestigious teaching award.

Year 12 students from many Greater Western Sydney schools were inspired by the wisdom of Professor James Arvanitakis.

The day then broke into three sessions. The students were able to choose their sessions, which included:
•    Turning Failure into Success
•    The V Drive – unleashing your potential through volunteering
•    UWS Scholarships
•    Everything you need to know about signing up for the Navy, Army or Air Force
•    UWS Solar Car
•    Robotics in Action
•    Course Information Sessions

The day was also an opportunity for students to learn about the UWS Fast Forward Scholarship.

The students who attended were:
Erwin Andres
Eden Corbett
Loujunior Go
Sean Gehrig
Scott Hall
Madelaine Hudson
Nigel Nyamogo
Bianca Raviraj
Giulia Sciarra

The students were great ambassadors of St Andrews College and Ms May looks forward to assisting the students make application to the UWS Fast Forward Scholarship.