Western Sydney University Fast Forward Year 12 Conference

On Friday the 4th of March eight Year 12 students attended the Western Sydney University Fast Forward Conference held at Rooty Hill RSL.

The Conference began with an address from Western Sydney University Chancellor Professor Peter Shergold AC who informed the students that following your dream was essential to success. Professor Shergold also shared with the students his belief of the importance of a tertiary education for success in tomorrow’s world.

Year 12 Fast Forward Conference

The day then broke into three sessions. The students were able to choose their sessions, which included:

·       Inventing the future

·       Visual Communication – Design and Beyond

·       Western Sydney University Scholarships

·      Everything you need to know about signing up for the Navy, Army or Air Force

·       Western Sydney Univeristy Solar Car

·       Robotics in Action

·       Course Information Session.


Fast Forward Scholarship Winner

During the Conference Year 12 students were introduced to the 2016 Fast Forward Scholarship recipients. One of the four recipients is Eden Corbett, a graduate from St Andrews College. Eden was a member of the first Fast Forward Group at St Andrews College and achieved an ATAR over 90. Along with her ATAR Eden’s application to her studies and her plan for the future helped secure her $20,000 scholarship.

The Conference closed with Professor James Arvanitakis who shared with the students his struggle with academic study, in particular a time when his first academic course co-ordinator advised him to re-think his plans of achieving a Bachelors Degree.

Professor Arvanitakis indeed did poorly in his first semester but with perseverance he continued his academic studies and now holds a PhD. In 2012 Professor Arvanitakis was awarded the Prime Minister’s University Teacher of the Year Award – Australia’s most prestigious teaching award.

Year 12 students from many Greater Western Sydney schools were certainly inspired by the wisdom of Professor James Arvanitakis.

Students who attended were:

Jared Andronicus

Brittany Fletcher

Madison Franklin

Earvin Lualhati

Rwaida Maragan

Pamela Orbe

Zachary Petrini

Aleisha Thornton

The students were great ambassadors of St Andrews College and Ms May looks forward to assisting students who wish to make application to the Western Sydney Univeristy Fast Forward Scholarship.

Therese May

Careers Adviser